It Blocked Out The Sun 10


Jonathan tried to block the front door of the theatre.  “You guys can’t leave.  You were late in the first place.  Where are you going?”

“We are going to Food Emporium, Jonathan.  We are out of coffee backstage.  Oh, and Manuel, my doorman, is bringing Lexington over.  Take the cat carrier from him and give him this twenty.  Lexington can stay in the green room with Bethel until we get back,” Jill batted her eyes.

“I don’t think all of you need to go for coffee.  And I don’t know why we need to have these animals here.  THIS IS WORK.  YOU ARE BEING PAID TO BE HERE.”  Jill kissed Jonathan on the cheek.  “But OK.  This time.”

We hit the door, leaving Jonathan holding Jill’s rumpled one dollar bill.  Food Emporium was right across 42nd St.  I mean directly across the street.  We jay-walked rapidly to the store.

“Someone’s made a store that’s just for me… Food Emporium, Food Emporium
Someone’s got my kind of qualityyyyyy
Food Emporium, Food Emporium.”

Moira, Jill, and I all grabbed carts.  Mike stuck with me.  “Can I push your cart for you, lady?”

“For God’s sake, Mike, get your own cart.  We are going to need a lot of stuff!”

“Ummm…I lost the credit cards in my divorce.  I have $5 in cash with me.”  Mike hung his head.  His eyebrows drooped in humiliation.

“Actors…always BROKE.  Grab a cart, you can pay me back, if we live and if the financial structure of this country is still intact after this is over.”

Mike immediately cheered up, once he had a cart.  “OK, girls, we need to be smart.  NO PERISHABLES.  None.  All canned goods.”

“Canned food is very bad for us, Mike,” Jill informed him.

“Don’t care.  We have to assume we won’t have electricity for long.  Flashlights.  Batteries.  Lighters.  Candles.  First Aid kits.  Coffee.  Cigarettes.  Beer.  Candy bars.”

“Wait a minute.  I’m not going into hock to buy a bunch of shit for you, Mike.  Get your own coffee, cigarettes, beer, and candy bars!,” declared Moira.

“It’s not for me,” Mike explained, “although I do enjoy those items.  In moderation, of course.”  We all rolled our eyes.  “I’m looking to the future, now.  We emerge into the world in a couple of weeks, or a month, even, and we’ll want to have stuff to trade.  If Manhattan is in the shitter, a person with a smoke will be a GOD.”

“Oooooh,” we all said.

“I watch a lot of zombie movies,” said Mike.

We’d split up for faster shopping.  Moira was on First Aid, because her Mom was a nurse.  Jill was on flashlights and pet food, because she couldn’t be trusted to buy canned goods.  Mike was on Future Wealth items.  I was in the canned goods aisle.  Everybody was supposed to meet me there and finish topping off their carts with food.

“Someone’s made a store that’s just for me…. Food Emporium, Food Emporium
Someone’s got my kind of qualityyyyyy
Food Emporium, Food Emporium.”

“Damn, that song is annoying.  You really like Spam, don’t you?”

I turned from Spam grabbing and was confronted with a sailor.  A girl sailor.  She wore a white skirt, blouse and neat little cap.  She looked like a nurse, only less harried and more…butch.

“I absolutely love Spam.  Don’t they feed you on the ship?  I’ve never seen a sailor in a grocery store, before.”

“I need the candy aisle, but I can’t find it.  I’m looking for Pop Rocks.”

“Aren’t Pop Rocks illegal?  Didn’t they kill that Life cereal commercial kid?”

“That’s an urban myth.  Mikey lives.  Pop Rocks did disappear for a while, but now they are back, and they have their… uses.”  She flashed me a big, naughty smile.

“Oh my God.  That is really interesting.  Oh, here are my friends, they like Spam, too.”

“You’ve picked up a sailor!,” Jill squealed.

“No, no, she is just looking for the Pop Rocks.”

“That I am.  See you folks around.  Perhaps at the Spam festival in Waikiki.”  She beamed at me again before she sauntered off.

“She is making that up,” Moira snorted.  “No fool on earth would celebrate SPAM.  You were looking at her big boobs.”  Everybody smirked at me, then we spun around and started grabbing Spam.

It took us a while to check out, naturally.  We all hit different registers, but the in-counter scanners seemed to be foreign inventions to the clerks, who used them every damned day.  Moira’s credit card was maxed out, and she was not a tiny bit embarrassed when I sighed and handed her mine.

Mike decided to use the down time wisely.  He started calling his fellow cast members on his cell phone to tell them to pick up liquor on their way to the theatre.  It was bad news immediately.  Networks were overloaded, some numbers just rang without going through to voice mail.  One lone call got through.  The connection was horrible, but Mike thought that Ann said she was stuck on the other side of Times Square, which had been barricaded off.  We grimly waited for the cashiers to finish. An eternity and thousands of dollars in electronic debt later, we raced for the door, carts and all.











This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It Blocked Out The Sun 10

  1. Jaye says:

    Oh my! This is like SURVIVOR with bitchy people. I can’t wait to see Jill’s face when she first eats Spam.

  2. Kate says:

    I need a smoke. With my wine…

  3. Lynn says:

    Perishable or not, you better get some mayo for that spam.

  4. Love it! “Mike was on Future Wealth items.”

  5. Trish says:

    Pop Rocks? And a dirty smile huh??? LMAO… I love this so far!!!

Leave a Reply

